I took this photograph in Patuet, South Sudan (once again) in 2009; OK, I know! I have hundreds of photos from this time, and many other times that I cherish, the memories are wonderful.  Photos are like touch ups of memories that over time begin to fade. Unless we go back, almost like returning to the easel, these memories can pummel into oblivion, skewing our recollection of events and adventures; sort of like a dream really. Dreams can’t be returned to like photos or touched up, like an old painting; this is probably for the best in many instances….. Particularly for me, the nightmare is a frequent visitor. I’m a don’t shut down without a fight kinda person, a storm raging in the head, a light that won’t go out, no matter how many times I try to turn it off; sort of like reaching for the switch, but it’s too high (I am only 4 foot 10 inches tall)!

Anyway, back to the photograph; I took it when we were walking back to the dusty man-made airstrip, this little home is teetering on the edge of the airstrip that locals made, by jumping up and down on the ground, until the earth was compacted sufficiently (no joke). It was rather a precarious landing when we arrived, but better than walking for three hours from the nearest village, as we did in 2007. Life is an adventure, no matter where you live, what you do or who you are…. Grab it, run with it, dream good dreams, live long!

 

Sleeper

