I love reptiles with a passion.  I even have a tattoo of a lizard on my back (not displayed for all to see).  Australia has some of the most amazing reptiles in the world, including the salt water crocodile.  We have some great goannas (also known as ‘Monitor Lizards‘); the largest of these is the Perentie (Varanus giganteus); they can grow up to 8.2 ft or 2.5 meters long; but these reptiles are fairly hard to find, as they are found in the arid desert areas of Western Australia, South Australia, the Northern Territory and Queensland. They live in rocky outcrops and gorges.  Perenties are the fourth largest lizard in the world, after the Komodo dragon, Crocodile monitor and Water Monitor.  A common Australian Goanna found everywhere across Australia (even in the suburbs or local bushland) is the Sand Goanna (Varanus gouldii).  They grow to an average length of around 4ft 6 inches or around 1.4 meters.  Our son Phil works in a plant nursery not far from home, he sees them walking around the nursery.  I mentioned the Komodo Dragon, which hails from Indonesia.  When Lisa, Tania and I went to Bali, we visited the reptile park, I took a photo of a Komodo dragon.  I have written a Haiku for this photo (yet again), hope you all enjoy it!

